PDA

View Full Version : One question for tonight



and00dletra1nz
August 22nd, 2015, 11:42 PM
Excuse me, everyone.

On July 5th of last year, my Mom pre-ordered the Deluxe Edition of Trainz: A New Era for me, so that I could install it and play it on Microsoft Windows (that is, Windows 8.1, which was months before I upgraded to Windows 10). That act opened the "Download T:ANE" page on my account for "MyTrainz." I also saw that there was a MAC version of that game available on that page, since my Mom pre-ordered the Deluxe Edition of that game for Windows 8.1, like I said. Recently, I took an interest in that MAC program. Unfortunately, I saw that the tools that I could use to repair faulty assets were only for Microsoft Windows. So, my question is this: Are there any Apple Macintosh-compatible versions of the PEVSoft tools for Trainz (possibly including Trainz Simulator Mac and/or Trainz Simulator 2 Mac)? I wish to know. Thanks.

Zeldaboy14
August 22nd, 2015, 11:43 PM
Sadly, no. Pev has said that he won't be making tools for Mac (I think).

and00dletra1nz
August 22nd, 2015, 11:52 PM
Does this mean that I would have to use "Wine" for the iMac, or the "CrossOverMac" program, in order to install and use the PEVSoft tools?

shaneturner12
August 23rd, 2015, 02:02 AM
That would be correct. PEV's tools are Windows only (as stated on the PEVSoft Tools page on my tutorial website) and the cost involved for him would be prohibitive to convert it to Mac.

Shane

and00dletra1nz
August 23rd, 2015, 02:32 PM
There might be one problem. I am in the beginning stages of trusting the "CrossOverMac" program, since I saw that it can run some, if not all, of the computer games that I have, but I saw that Trainz Simulator 2010 and Trainz Simulator 12 are not compatible with said program, as of yet. If there is anyone who can verify that the PEVSoft tools are able to work on the latest version of "CrossOverMac," I would be grateful. Thank you.

PerRock
August 23rd, 2015, 03:26 PM
I can't speak for "CrossOverMac" but last time I tried using WINE, not all the programs work properly. I recall having problems with Meshviewer in particular. That being said it's been more then a year since I tried.

peter

clam1952
August 23rd, 2015, 04:27 PM
I can't speak for "CrossOverMac" but last time I tried using WINE, not all the programs work properly. I recall having problems with Meshviewer in particular. That being said it's been more then a year since I tried.

peter

Can be got round with Wine by "borrowing" a couple of Windows DLL's I forget which now. I gave up with Wine as every time it gets updated it seems to break something I had spent hours getting to work! I now use programs in the OS they were designed for, less hassle.

May be better off running say XP in a VM for pev's tools?

Zeldaboy14
August 23rd, 2015, 05:07 PM
Can be got round with Wine by "borrowing" a couple of Windows DLL's I forget which now. I gave up with Wine as every time it gets updated it seems to break something I had spent hours getting to work! I now use programs in the OS they were designed for, less hassle.

May be better off running say XP in a VM for pev's tools?
Yes. A XP Virtual Machine would do the trick for Mac Users.

and00dletra1nz
August 23rd, 2015, 11:54 PM
Or perhaps, I could install a genuine copy of the Windows 8.1 (or Windows 10) software onto the iMac using that computer's Boot Camp Assistant to help. Would that work, though? That's the problem.

JCitron
August 24th, 2015, 12:24 AM
Or perhaps, I could install a genuine copy of the Windows 8.1 (or Windows 10) software onto the iMac using that computer's Boot Camp Assistant to help. Would that work, though? That's the problem.

That should work fine. You just need to ensure you have enough space because you will have to create a drive partition to hold Windows plus the programs. The alternative is bit less drastic. You can always get Parallels and put Windows 10 (recommended over Windows 8.1 any day) in a VM. You can then drag and drop files and there will be no need to restart your machine every time you want to go from Windows to OSx.

John

Zeldaboy14
August 24th, 2015, 07:16 AM
I agree with john. Go with 10, not 8.

and00dletra1nz
August 29th, 2015, 12:26 AM
Of course, I have Boot Camp Assistant on the Mac OS X Yosemite that I am currently using (it's an iMac) until I either get my computer repaired (by my Dad) or get a new computer that has Windows 10 pre-installed on it. Would the Boot Camp Assistant on the iMac work?