PDA

View Full Version : T:ANE Screenshot Save Location?



BNSF_EMD
June 24th, 2015, 06:31 PM
T:ANE is confusing me with its screen-capturing.

I know that it's taking screenshots and that it is saving them somewhere, because when I go to the "Screenshot Review and Upload" screen under "Capture Screenshot" in the main menu bar in Surveyor, I can see them just fine. I cannot, however, find any indication of where these screenshots are being saved to.
Does this mean that all screenshots I take with T:ANE itself (not with another program) must be uploaded to the MyTrainz feed to be used in another capacity? It would seem not, and I hope not, but I can find nothing to suggest otherwise.

Thanks in advance!

bnsfc
June 24th, 2015, 09:19 PM
I cant even find where they go when you "upload" them.

jeani000
November 5th, 2015, 06:12 AM
You can find them in C:\Users\'name'\AppData\Local\N3V Games\TANE\screenshots



T:ANE is confusing me with its screen-capturing.

I know that it's taking screenshots and that it is saving them somewhere, because when I go to the "Screenshot Review and Upload" screen under "Capture Screenshot" in the main menu bar in Surveyor, I can see them just fine. I cannot, however, find any indication of where these screenshots are being saved to.
Does this mean that all screenshots I take with T:ANE itself (not with another program) must be uploaded to the MyTrainz feed to be used in another capacity? It would seem not, and I hope not, but I can find nothing to suggest otherwise.

Thanks in advance!

dougtrain
November 5th, 2015, 11:58 AM
You can r/click the screenshot folder and have a short cut on the desktop as well if you wish.

Doug

davesnow
March 13th, 2016, 09:56 PM
You can find them in C:\Users\'name'\AppData\Local\N3V Games\TANE\screenshots


Except screenshots taken in Surveyor won't show up there....

BLACKWATCH
March 14th, 2016, 07:35 AM
You can find them in C:\Users\'name'\AppData\Local\N3V Games\TANE\screenshots

Sorry but that ain't true here .........
I can navigate C:\Users\'name' ........... but there ain't no file called "AppData" in there to have anything that follows in it.

shaneturner12
March 14th, 2016, 07:40 AM
I may be able to suggest an even quicker method of finding the folder.

Because the AppData folder is hidden by Windows, use %localappdata% instead in Windows/File Explorer (or even just look under Trainz Settings > Install and copy and paste the location shown).

Shnae

BLACKWATCH
March 14th, 2016, 07:44 AM
use %localappdata% instead in Windows/File Explorer

Just tried that Shane, it says "no files match your search" ?

shaneturner12
March 14th, 2016, 07:48 AM
It's not meant to treat it as a search term - not sure why it has.

Try entering it in the Run box instead.

Shane

BLACKWATCH
March 14th, 2016, 08:04 AM
That worked, but still no 'screenshots' file, I get this ................

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z260/trainz_album/screen2_zpsgrnbbvfk.jpg

BLACKWATCH
March 14th, 2016, 08:15 AM
Usually, if I want a screenshot, I just hit the 'Prt Scrn' button on my kb & paste it into 'Paint', then save it to my 'Pictures' folder.

shaneturner12
March 14th, 2016, 08:24 AM
That's how it usually works, although for some reason Trainz saves it directly into the screenshot folder.

Shane

shaneturner12
March 14th, 2016, 08:25 AM
That worked, but still no 'screenshots' file, I get this ................

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z260/trainz_album/screen2_zpsgrnbbvfk.jpg

You will need to look under Trainz Settings > Install in the version that the screenshot has been saved from to find out which build folder it is.

Shane

BLACKWATCH
March 14th, 2016, 08:26 AM
But it can't if (like me) you ain't got a 'screenshots' folder. :D

Will go hunting ;)

shaneturner12
March 14th, 2016, 08:35 AM
From memory, the screenshots folder gets created once a screenshot is taken. With T:ANE, I usually use the Take Screenshot option.

Shane

BLACKWATCH
March 14th, 2016, 08:38 AM
Trainz Settings > Install tells me 'build ijs2ao9p1', but I've checked every folder in there & still no screenshots.

I've just had a thought though, since I updated to this build, I haven't taken any screenshots, so would the folder only be created when I do, or
should it be there anyway ?


Scratch that, you beat me to it Shane. :D

p-dehnert
March 14th, 2016, 08:48 AM
Check all the build folders, shown in your posted image, for screenshot folders. These are the UserData folders of old or alternative installations.

Peter

Jayco-man
March 14th, 2016, 08:25 PM
Shane just told you, you need to take a screenshot for it to make a folder.

BLACKWATCH
March 15th, 2016, 05:22 AM
Shane just told you, you need to take a screenshot for it to make a folder.


See post #16