PDA

View Full Version : Interface Issues

andi06
June 8th, 2015, 08:31 AM
First of all let me make it clear that when I talk about the design of the interface I'm referring to usability and not to the colour of the buttons. Design of the interface is never going to win any votes in a beauty contest when its up against bouncing raindrops, but improvements in usability, some of them very simple, could greatly increase productivity, especially in Surveyor and especially for route builders. Surveyor is a essentially a CAD Editor and to be brutally honest its not a very good one. In the main this is less to do with what it can and can't achieve and more about how the various tools are implemented and accessed.

I know that a fundamental re-design of the interface is out of the question right now but there are some very simple changes that could remove the worst of the irritations from using the software. Without being too arrogant I'm a professional designer who has been using various kinds of CAD software for over twenty five years so I do know what I'm talking about here.

Major Interface Irritants - No Particular Order

1. Tool selection: if you are deleting track and then switch to the scenery tab, the chances are that you will still be in a deleting frame of mind. This is a natural consequence of the way that people use tools. Yet the mode selection is reset with every tab change. If delete is set it should be retained until the user changes mode - the same should be true for other appropriate functions.