PDA

View Full Version : down loading patch files



siennad
May 18th, 2015, 09:51 PM
once I installed tane onto my pc it installed all ok but one I hit start it come up with this message ... unable to authorise this product .. please check your mytrainz account in launch . I done that and it then said updates are available . so I clicked yes and its been updating/installing patches for about 20 minutes .. is this normal ? please help

siennad
May 18th, 2015, 10:54 PM
ok so its now been nearly 90 minutes and still updating/installing patches . how long should this take ?

JCitron
May 18th, 2015, 10:59 PM
once I installed tane onto my pc it installed all ok but one I hit start it come up with this message ... unable to authorise this product .. please check your mytrainz account in launch . I done that and it then said updates are available . so I clicked yes and its been updating/installing patches for about 20 minutes .. is this normal ? please help

Welcome to the forums and to Trainz.

Though I haven't experienced this, yes, this is sounds about right for the prodect. You are required to setup an account on MyTrainz, which gives you permission to download content and updates as well as have access to the forums.

I don't know how long the patch is supposed to take... I'm a world away, maybe 15000 km from where N3V is. :)

John

siennad
May 18th, 2015, 11:14 PM
I have a mytrainz account :) just cant open the game as it says unable to authorise this product .. please check your mytrainz account in launch .. just hope it works after the patched install nearly 2 hours now and green bar only half way :(

shaneturner12
May 19th, 2015, 02:10 AM
Make sure you've put your username and password into the Settings box as well.

Shane

bolivar
May 19th, 2015, 09:56 PM
Took 4 hours to download 8 gig patch. On adsl2 connection.

Ronando_SA
May 20th, 2015, 03:37 AM
Took 4 hours to download 8 gig patch. On adsl2 connection.

I'm doing the same, its absolutely disgusting to take so long to download a patch, which we HAVE to do. So why doesn't N3V or whoever is involved bump up priorities and/or download speeds for patches. Every other game supplier at least has decent download speeds for patches (Origin, steam etc, i also play battlefield and GTA online and they are no where near as slow at downloading as TRAINZ patches) Its ridiculous !!!!!!!!!!!!
And another thing, when using the automatic updater why cant we have the following features: patch size, estimated time left, current speed, and a pause/resume option, they would be VERY handy !!!!!!!!!!!! Come on TRAINZ, PULL YOUR FINGER OUT !!!!!

shaneturner12
May 20th, 2015, 06:24 AM
I'm doing the same, its absolutely disgusting to take so long to download a patch, which we HAVE to do. So why doesn't N3V or whoever is involved bump up priorities and/or download speeds for patches. Every other game supplier at least has decent download speeds for patches (Origin, steam etc, i also play battlefield and GTA online and they are no where near as slow at downloading as TRAINZ patches) Its ridiculous !!!!!!!!!!!!
And another thing, when using the automatic updater why cant we have the following features: patch size, estimated time left, current speed, and a pause/resume option, they would be VERY handy !!!!!!!!!!!! Come on TRAINZ, PULL YOUR FINGER OUT !!!!!

I will give you a straight answer here - when it comes to patches, they don't have much control over the download speeds. As for the other aspect, it's difficult to estimate speed and time remaining.

Shane