PDA

View Full Version : Question about the Free Blue Comet



BryanMar3046
January 9th, 2015, 08:39 PM
Hi there, so I have a question..I have both TS 2010 and TS 2012 installed on a computer (keep in mind this is a separate computer that cannot connect to the Internet)
But here's the main point I'm trying to ask.
I have ANOTHER computer (Laptop) that can connect to the Internet and download Trainz content. I use a USB to transfer .cdp content to my other computer to play.
When I revieved the email saying the blue comet was free, I clicked on the link and it directed me to simulater central.
I read the note box and it says, you must have Trainz 2010 SP1 installed.
Does this mean I have to install it on my internet computer to just get the content? Or is there perhaps a better solution without having to install everything, and then deleting the program to just fetch for the DLC?
Help is much appreciated!
-Bryan

captainkman
January 9th, 2015, 08:45 PM
You need TS2010 SP3 and up to use the content.

You can download the EXE onto your USB and install it into TS2010 or TS12 build 49922 (pre SP1) on your gaming computer.

Kieran.

BryanMar3046
January 9th, 2015, 09:42 PM
You need TS2010 SP3 and up to use the content.

You can download the EXE onto your USB and install it into TS2010 or TS12 build 49922 (pre SP1) on your gaming computer.

Kieran.

Ok so I've been given a Serial Number... But Since I know you must have an internet connection to get this, do I just install it I guess?
(Actually, what's the exe I can download onto my USB?)

Falcus
January 9th, 2015, 10:51 PM
The issue I'm having is that when I try to install it, there is no copy of TS09 or 10 on my computer.....

Falcus

captainkman
January 9th, 2015, 11:10 PM
The issue I'm having is that when I try to install it, there is no copy of TS09 or 10 on my computer.....

Falcus

If your TS12 is pre-SP1, use the TS09 or TS2010 option to navigate to the TS12 folder and install it there.

If your TS12 is SP1 (past 49922), it will install uatomatically next time you open Trainz and let it go online (or if not, when you select 'Redownload all Purchases').

Kieran.

BryanMar3046
January 10th, 2015, 12:47 PM
Ok so I have the EXE on my gaming computer.. Now it shows me use a program to open the file. The options i received: Content Manager Plus (2006) Notepad, Paint Media Center.
I want to install this onto TS 2012.. How do I do this? Drag it into the TS 2012 bin?

clam1952
January 10th, 2015, 12:56 PM
Exe files are supposed to be run, not dragged, try double clicking it and the setup program should then run.

BryanMar3046
January 10th, 2015, 01:45 PM
My bad, I mean it's a file but no specifics (it's not a .exe, .cdp etc)
What do I do to open the Comet_Installer?

shaneturner12
January 10th, 2015, 01:49 PM
Have you tried adding .exe to the end of the filename?

Shane

cascaderailroad
January 10th, 2015, 04:59 PM
Why would you want to drag files into the Trainz bin file ?

They are supposed to "Open With (your version) CM"

KenRuof
January 10th, 2015, 06:16 PM
He may have file extension turned off in Explorer so would not see the .exe

BuilderBob
January 10th, 2015, 06:54 PM
He may have file extension turned off in Explorer so would not see the .exe

Even with that option turned on in Explorer the '.exe' seems to get removed. I'm not sure if this happens at the server or the client. In addition to re-inserting the '.exe' it is often necessary to open the Properties dialog for the file and ensure it is unblocked.