PDA

View Full Version : USA route



titaniclover
November 26th, 2006, 12:57 AM
any one intersted in making a USA route. it will be set in the 1950s with all the USA plus Canadian line in one big layout.

StorkNest
November 26th, 2006, 01:01 AM
Depends in more depth what you are looking for.
There is a UTC route, I believe, called "CONTINENTAL" on DLS that had various US areas.
Another I saw in a VR article that should be on DLS is "United Central" IIRC, is an Industry Interactive route that does generic areas of the US in the North, South, East and West.

titaniclover
November 26th, 2006, 12:20 PM
i ment the entire USA and Canada rail routes. in other words dreating the entire north American rail ways.

louvain
November 26th, 2006, 01:05 PM
A massive project............good luck :)

Icycle
November 27th, 2006, 01:22 PM
Really? The whole USA?

Now that would be a project!! It might take as long to build as did the real thing. I shudder to think of the electrical bills for the computer that could run it though.

That being said, there are many, many routes that are still missing from Trainz that would give the feeling of the USA in Trainz.

Good luck.

Best
Bill

sfrr
November 27th, 2006, 07:20 PM
well, im sure some peoples computers would shut them selves down from the MASSIVE amount of lag but good luck =p

titaniclover
November 27th, 2006, 07:24 PM
thats what im worried abot mabey ill stick to the North Easter Corridor or a state i dont think my computer will be able to handle it.

TrainMan12
November 27th, 2006, 08:44 PM
You could probably do multiple states (2-3) by compressing the route. This means shortening the route, include the same towns at sidings, just shorten the distance between them. This would take some time but would be an excellent route.


You don't have the time to make the entire USA. Even just track laying- no scenery or texturing or even terrain, would take months, if not years!

leeferr
November 27th, 2006, 09:42 PM
I think it would be interesting, but just building one division of a route would probably overload most machines. I hope you have lots of time on your hands. Good Luck.

nyswman
November 29th, 2006, 11:33 AM
The research alone would drive you crazy. I tried a prototypical route once on a local regional line and I was going out of my mind obsessing on the details. I gave up and started working on fictional routes with real world insperations.

Jimmyp4
November 29th, 2006, 04:54 PM
My computer has an almost full hard drive so smaller routes with less detail is the way to go! This method is also easyer! I must agree with nyswman on that one, I like fictonal! Easy to build because it comes from your imagination and can be anything you want!

tonyvdb
November 29th, 2006, 05:15 PM
Your best option if you so choose is to make several smaller routs that can be driven one at a time but even that would be a huge undertaking. My semi prototypical Alberta run has taken me 2 years to build and it only has Central and Southern Alberta and takes over 8 hrs to drive (if you follow the posted speed) from one end to the other and that dosent include the LRV lines in both Cities.

chrisracer8903
November 29th, 2006, 06:01 PM
If anybody remember's my MoPac route set in Texas/ New Mexico. It was never released. It will eventually be released but it will be a fictional route across the U.S.A. but during the 1980's to present day. It includes what I have done on the MoPac route, to Tehachapi to downtown Los Angeles and Long Beach. -Chris

NickMikado
November 29th, 2006, 06:14 PM
A single row of boards from NY to LA would require 6400 boards. Assuming you want to do just the five trans-continental lines (SP, UP, NP, WP, and CP) you'd need 32000 boards:eek:. Even with massive compression this project is WAY to complex. Try doing a single state Kansas or Wyoming:D

leader2302
November 29th, 2006, 10:06 PM
I have been working on a 70 mile prototypical US route for the past two years and it will take another year to finish. (High detail-about 500 baseboards)

Let's do some math. The US alone has about 140,000 miles of track. If it takes about 3 years to do 70 miles it will take about 6000 years to complete your route.

LOL- By then the human race will be long gone, replaced by cyborgs.

Good Luck...(I'd pick a 20 mile route to build first)

Transportfan
January 4th, 2007, 10:42 PM
As well, even using topographical maps, it would be almost impossible to get all the trackage positioned precisely--even with only one line.

Also, the upper limit for a file size is 2 GIG.