PDA

View Full Version : Looking For A New Computer

JackieG
August 27th, 2014, 04:19 PM
Hello all,

In the recent months I have been looking at building a new computer. I'm not very good at the hardware side of computers and was wonder what your

computer specs are. So I was wondering if you could post a picture with the frame rates in it and your specs so I can make a good decision.

Thanks,

JackieG

*Mods if this is in the wrong section please move it*

Enzo1
August 27th, 2014, 05:40 PM
I would recommend NVIDIA Graphics, most likely for TANE, I'd say for a good price, GTX 780. I would also recommend Intel processors. AMD's are crap. Intel I5 or I7 (I would personally go with any guy in the I7 family, but I'm stuck with an I5, but its awesome) are good. I would go anywhere from 8-12 GB of RAM. That should be able to run TANE 64 bit pretty easily. I would also say if you could get Win 7 64 bit, I'd get it and not even give an eye to Windows 8.

LNERlover5
August 27th, 2014, 06:08 PM
See my signature, this build is very budget friendly and provides excellent performance in pretty much any game. AMD are not crap, far from it, as they provide options at price points that may make much more sense to people on a budget, such as their FX-8320 processor which can be had for roughly 100 or your regional equivalent.

pware
August 27th, 2014, 06:16 PM
I would agree with every point that Chris has made except the last one (but I don't know about Intel vs AMD). I just recently bought an ultrabook laptop with an i7 Haswell processor, a touch screen, 8G of memory and Win 8.1 (64 bit) specifically to run TANE "on the move" - plus other uses of course. My next purchase will be a 64 bit Win 8.1 desktop to replace my current (and aging) 32 bit Win 7 desktop. Opinions on Win 7 vs Win 8 vary, just as opinions on XP vs Win 7 varied, but I fall firmly in the Win 8 camp.

JackieG
August 27th, 2014, 11:23 PM