PDA

View Full Version : Installing 2nd version of TS12



ccowan2126
February 10th, 2014, 01:22 PM
I am installing a 2nd version of TS12 on my computer with the intent of patching to the latest build. I have a current version of build 49922. I am installing the 2nd version into C:\TS12-V2. After that there is a patch to go from 49922 up to 68318 (or something like that). Once I download this, I should turn off Antivirus and pull the plug on the internet and then patch, correct? After that do a QDR, correct? Then how do I import the routes that I have created/modified in my other build of TS12?

I am only doing all of this because it seems like JR is not supporting non-SP1 content, is that right? I have a lot of their Freeware and am having problems with a lot if it all of a sudden. Any help would be appreciated.

Zeldaboy14
February 10th, 2014, 01:27 PM
You would patch the game like you normally would.

ccowan2126
February 10th, 2014, 01:40 PM
I just finished installing; looks like it it build 46957. Starting to patch now...

ccowan2126
February 10th, 2014, 01:56 PM
Just got this message: Failed to create backup of file C:\TS12-V2\bin\DebugInterface_7c.dll.pbk Failed to apply the patch 46957 to 61388 Patching aborted

WTF

Zeldaboy14
February 10th, 2014, 02:02 PM
Strange. You may just want to patch to the next build of each oatch, and not jump ANYTHING!

shaneturner12
February 10th, 2014, 02:05 PM
I would suggest checking for and deleting any .pbk (Dial Up Phonebook) files in the Trainz install folder and subfolders.

Shane

Zeldaboy14
February 10th, 2014, 02:07 PM
Shane, I have a question. Why does when you patch Trainz, the files are .pbk (Dial Up Phonebook)?

ccowan2126
February 10th, 2014, 02:09 PM
I would suggest checking for and deleting any .pbk (Dial Up Phonebook) files in the Trainz install folder and subfolders.

Shane

I don't see anything called "Trainz install folder". Where would I find this?

Zeldaboy14
February 10th, 2014, 02:12 PM
If a patch fails, normally they should be in there. It seems they disappeared after the patch was aborted.

ccowan2126
February 10th, 2014, 02:13 PM
In the "bin" file, I found a file (or something) labeled "DebugInterface_7c.dll" Date modified 4/11/2011 9:52am. When I hover over this file it reads: Date created 2/10/2014

Zeldaboy14
February 10th, 2014, 02:18 PM
You opened the Bin File!? All the bin file's should be left alone.

GDennish
February 10th, 2014, 02:34 PM
The .dll was modified on that date, but it was extracted and put in that folder the day you installed it, so that's why it says created on 2/10/14.

ccowan2126
February 10th, 2014, 02:38 PM
UPDATE: I went into the options menu and signed into my Auran account. Now an automatic update from 46957 to 48249 is in progress. Let's see what happens...

ccowan2126
February 10th, 2014, 02:40 PM
Now patching from 48249 to 49922...

ccowan2126
February 10th, 2014, 02:48 PM
I got a popup box again..."Failed to create backup...Debug..."; but when I clicked "retry" it disappeared this time and is continuing to patch.

ccowan2126
February 10th, 2014, 02:53 PM
Auto patching from 49922 to 58414...so far so good.

captainkman
February 10th, 2014, 03:06 PM
I hate to tell you this now after the install and patch has been nearly completed, but copying the existing TS12 install and then just patching that from 49922 to whatever SP1 HF4 is may have been faster.

The first post was made at 3:30 in the morning my time though so my not getting to it fast enough is understandable.

Anyway, best of luck with patching. :)

Kieran.

ccowan2126
February 10th, 2014, 03:19 PM
I'm not sure I understand. How do you COPY the existing TS12 install...and why would you want to? Would that give me TWO versions of TS12? That is what I am shooting for. In case I don't like the patched version, I want to keep the original one. Please forgive me, but I am NOT very computer literate. Most of what I know about computers comes from talking to people on this forum. Followup question, once everything is patched how do I get my content, routes and modified 3rd party routes into the patched version?

GDennish
February 10th, 2014, 03:25 PM
Just copy the TS12 folder before the patch to another drive or directory, and that would give you the version of TS12 before you patched it. From what I remember copy the /UserData from the old TS12 folder to the new one and do a extended database repair. I think you can also go into Content Manager File -> Import from Content and choose your local folder, but I found copying the UserData folder was quicker for me.

ccowan2126
February 10th, 2014, 04:10 PM
Man...the patch from 49922 to 58414 is a BIG one !...it's still going...

Thanks, GDennish, for the info.

ccowan2126
February 10th, 2014, 04:48 PM
Got the following messages: No more patches for version 58414/46956...Updating Trainz asset database...Repairing asset database.
Hope that is normal and almost done!

ccowan2126
February 10th, 2014, 05:48 PM
Build version is currently 58414. When attempting to patch to 61388 I get the same message from the beginning...Failed to create backup file...Debug...blah,blah, blah...
What gives?

ccowan2126
February 13th, 2014, 03:56 PM
From what I remember copy the /UserData from the old TS12 folder to the new one and do a extended database repair.

How do I copy the UserData folder from the old install to the new install without going thru CM?