PDA

View Full Version : 'run around train' rule problems



leeferr
November 24th, 2006, 10:59 AM
I've been working on a scenario, but I'm having problems with the run around train rule. Upon execution, the loco decouples, pulls forward to a clear track, reverses directions and then just keeps going. It never stops to reverse direction for coupling back to the train. It's not just one loco that does it. Every loco in the scenario with the rule does the same thing. I've never had this happen before.
Anyone out there had a similar problem? By the way, it's on TRS04, version 2.4, build 2365 if that helps.

titaniclover
November 24th, 2006, 03:31 PM
i too have the same problem it is probably your track direction markers try them

leeferr
November 24th, 2006, 04:38 PM
i too have the same problem it is probably your track direction markers try them

I take a look at them and see, but I don't think that's the problem. In fact, I don't think I have any direction markers in the vicinity. Another scenario of mine on the same layout works fine, no problem with the run arounds, so I'm a little baffled about it.

Capt_Haddock
November 25th, 2006, 04:54 PM
From memory, you need an extra point.
If the loop is between points A and B and the loco is drawing forward beyond B and then going back via A to re-couple, an extra point and short siding placed just beyond A will deflect it and stop it from running away.

Hope this is right.
Chris

leeferr
November 26th, 2006, 01:43 AM
From memory, you need an extra point.
If the loop is between points A and B and the loco is drawing forward beyond B and then going back via A to re-couple, an extra point and short siding placed just beyond A will deflect it and stop it from running away.

Hope this is right.
Chris

that's really strange. Why does the run around work sometimes and then sometimes it doesn't. And it isn't alway Alastair driving either.

Dermmy
November 26th, 2006, 04:35 AM
Slightly more complicated to set up, but seems to work (mostly!):

Uncouplez -OR- UncouplezFrom
Drive to Trackmark (clear of first run-around junction)
Drive via Trackmark (placed on run-around track)
Drive to Trackmark (clear of second run-around junction)
CoupleToVehicleNearSignal -OR- CoupleAtTrackmark

The first two rules are from Smileyman, the last two from Atilabarut, all on the DLS. Which rules works most economically in which set of circumstances can be worked out quite quickly.

Andy :)

leeferr
November 26th, 2006, 10:32 AM
thanks Andy. I thought about that, but now I've got another problem. My uncouple icon doesn't appear. When I go to the Driver Command rule setup, it appears as available, but when I run the scenario, it's not available. Haven't figured that one out yet.
Mike

psemmel
December 12th, 2006, 12:29 AM
Another problem I have with "Run Around" is if the consist is over a set of points, the loco will not run around or if it does, the consist derails. So I ensure no points are between front and rear of consist.

leeferr
December 12th, 2006, 12:32 AM
that's a good point, but my problem doesn't involve any consists sitting over the points. I'm still baffled why it doesn't work sometimes and then sometimes it does.

Zorronov
December 12th, 2006, 01:21 AM
Just a suggestion...maybe adding some trackmarks might solve the problem. It seems, from my experience, that trackmarks help the AI by giving it less to "think" about. Although the AI will move against the direction of a trackmark (but not a direction marker), it prefers not to. (Note: This can result in some rather odd responses to driver commands at times. :) ) If the AI doesn't respond at all to a command, it might be due to the program entering an infinite loop. Adding more trackmarks further defines the possible paths that can be taken.

Zorronov

P.S. Sorry about the personification of the computer program (after all its just a bunch of voltages and currents on microchips), but...its easier to describe that way.

nitroline
December 12th, 2006, 07:36 AM
hi all

i have found that sometimes AI needs 3 points to run over before it changes direction by uitself

i usually tell it to wait 20 seconds between each run around manouver

mostly this works for me

cheers

steven

TomDean
December 13th, 2006, 12:05 PM
That's very strange, because last week-end I set up a 'run round train' at both ends of a branch line. As I'd never had problems on other routes I expected them to run correctly first time. Oh no! :( On first running at station A the loco de-coupled and ran over three sets of points to the mainline before stopping and then reversing beyond its train for two miles up the branch line. I hadn't stopped it as I wanted to see what was causing the problem. Having stopped on its own, it ran back to its train and coupled normally.

Arriving at station B the last coach was left fowling a set of points, but the loco ran round, passing 'through' the last coach and then recoupling to the train. It then returned to Station A where the run-round was perfectly normal!:confused:

I have since run the scenario several times and there have been no further problems at Station A. Station B has been corrected by placing Track Markers so that the train stops clear of the points and the run-round is now fine.

Neither of the stations have points which the loco must pass overbefore changing direction so I can't explain how the AI manages to read a situation correctly with some set-ups and not with others. It seems that sometimes it's just a matter of trial and error!

Good luck

TD