PDA

View Full Version : RI New Signals



seniorchief
November 23rd, 2006, 09:39 PM
I been trying get these new signals working, I can make most of them now, but trying to get them to work thats my problem now, I won't give up till I can do it all.
Here are some of my creations, I have made about 10 so far. Still trying. Any help please, All will be for the community usage.

Enjoy!!!!!!!!:) :) :)


http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/8823/rockislandsignalwx6.th.jpg (http://img237.imageshack.us/my.php?image=rockislandsignalwx6.jpg)

http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/9971/risignal2mp0.th.jpg (http://img237.imageshack.us/my.php?image=risignal2mp0.jpg)

http://img170.imageshack.us/img170/2845/newrisignalej8.th.jpg (http://img170.imageshack.us/my.php?image=newrisignalej8.jpg)

leeferr
November 24th, 2006, 02:53 AM
wish that I could help you with getting them to work, but that's above my head right now. Just wanted to say that they look really nice. I'll be keeping an eye out for them if you get to a point to upload them.

eldavo
November 24th, 2006, 03:47 AM
Looking very good there. You might want to reduce the number of height segments in some of the cylinders. It would reduce your poly count a lot especially as you have been fairly generous with the number of segments to get them nice and smooth. I guess signals don't occur in huge numbers so it's not a big deal though. :)

Cheers
Dave

seniorchief
November 24th, 2006, 11:28 AM
Looking very good there. You might want to reduce the number of height segments in some of the cylinders. It would reduce your poly count a lot especially as you have been fairly generous with the number of segments to get them nice and smooth. I guess signals don't occur in huge numbers so it's not a big deal though. :)

Cheers
Dave

Thanks dave, any help for me is very welcomed, once I get them working or something working I will be making many signals a nice group for us.
I am still learning, I have the Gmax bible it's 800 pages, but I am learning quickly, I like making these for some reason, I guess I just loving creating things now.

Regards, Damon (The Rocker):cool:

seniorchief
November 24th, 2006, 11:32 AM
wish that I could help you with getting them to work, but that's above my head right now. Just wanted to say that they look really nice. I'll be keeping an eye out for them if you get to a point to upload them.
I am glad you like them, I have made about 10 now. just trying to get one to work, still learning Gmax also. It wil all work out. So just keep your fingers crossed for me.

regards.

Damon (The Rocker)

leeferr
November 24th, 2006, 11:44 AM
I am glad you like them, I have made about 10 now. just trying to get one to work, still learning Gmax also. It wil all work out. So just keep your fingers crossed for me.

regards.

Damon (The Rocker)

looks like you're doing great so far. I would agree that you might want to keep you cylinder segments to a minium, 1 if possible for what you're doing.
Keep up the good work

seniorchief
November 27th, 2006, 06:55 AM
http://www.ecloner.com/photo/img/c799de9f1111953b1efb8fbe4c7e119e/Rock%20Island%20Signals.JPG (http://www.ecloner.com/photo/view.php?img=c799de9f1111953b1efb8fbe4c7e119ec799d e9f1111953b1efb8fbe4c7e119e)
Enjoy,

Damon(The Rocker)

jjslll54
November 27th, 2006, 12:59 PM
This is a copy of a config for a two aspect dwarf signal I made. You need one helper point for each corona you want to display with the Z axis facing the direction you want the corona visible. Each helper point should be named a.light0,1,2 etc. This config is for a USA02 type signal. See the CCG for how to config other types. There are some scripted signals out there, but this is a good place to start. Hope this helps.

kind mosignal
kuid KUID:46819:24003
obsolete-table {
}
region JJS
trackside -2.7
function TrackSignal
light 1
name
fontsize
fontcolor 0,0,0
signals
{
0 {
light 2,5
}
3 {
light 2,4
}
4 {
light 1,5
}
6 {
light 2,3
}
7 {
light 1,3
}
8 {
light 0,5
}
9 {
light 2,4
}

}
lights
{
0 {
corona corona_green.tga
}
1 {
corona corona_yellow.tga
}
2 {
corona corona_red.tga
}
3 {
corona corona_green.tga
}
4 {
corona corona_yellow.tga
}
5 {
corona corona_red.tga
}

}
trainz-build 1.3
category-class WA
category-region-0 US
category-era-0 2000s
category-era-1 1990s

Jack

grogstop65
November 27th, 2006, 01:26 PM
Great looking signals!

seniorchief
November 29th, 2006, 07:59 AM
This is a copy of a config for a two aspect dwarf signal I made. You need one helper point for each corona you want to display with the Z axis facing the direction you want the corona visible. Each helper point should be named a.light0,1,2 etc. This config is for a USA02 type signal. See the CCG for how to config other types. There are some scripted signals out there, but this is a good place to start. Hope this helps.

kind mosignal
kuid KUID:46819:24003
obsolete-table {
}
region JJS
trackside -2.7
function TrackSignal
light 1
name
fontsize
fontcolor 0,0,0
signals
{
0 {
light 2,5
}
3 {
light 2,4
}
4 {
light 1,5
}
6 {
light 2,3
}
7 {
light 1,3
}
8 {
light 0,5
}
9 {
light 2,4
}

}
lights
{
0 {
corona corona_green.tga
}
1 {
corona corona_yellow.tga
}
2 {
corona corona_red.tga
}
3 {
corona corona_green.tga
}
4 {
corona corona_yellow.tga
}
5 {
corona corona_red.tga
}

}
trainz-build 1.3
category-class WA
category-region-0 US
category-era-0 2000s
category-era-1 1990s

Jack

Thank you very much jack, 1st question?
Will or should the helper points be part of the mesh or im file when converting the signal to a mesh. Everything is attaching accept the helper point, when I convert it accept the helper points. which I have named on one signal recently before I posted here I have named them , a.light0, a.light1,a.light2.
I am just trying to do one light to see if it works.

Thank You so very much,

Damon(The Rocker)

norfolksouthern37
November 29th, 2006, 11:50 AM
Those are pretty sweet looking.

Therock
November 29th, 2006, 05:15 PM
Very cool! :)

jjslll54
November 29th, 2006, 11:10 PM
For a single aspect signal, you will need three helper points labled a.light0,1,2. They should all sit at the same point on your signal lense. They will not be part of the mesh but will export with the model. The config file tells Trainz what to do with the helper points. Study the CCG for TRS04 and you will understand how to configure different types of signals based on how you want to use them on your route.

Jack

seniorchief
November 30th, 2006, 01:51 AM
I have the helper points set correctly I exported it , the item shows up in the menu but no spin around picture, if try and apply it to the route trainz crashes. If I put it in the scenery folder and change the configuation file it shows up fine and I can apply to the route. Any suggestions ?.

Thanks in advance.........:)

Damon

dnutter
April 9th, 2007, 04:56 PM
Do these it finish it realase right now or not yet? Just I want know that all;)