PDA

View Full Version : Could this site be used to make Trainz ?



sfinlay
May 21st, 2013, 04:03 PM
http://www.123dapp.com/ Using 123D Catch you can download the programme or use it online. It can be used to make 3d models etc, the main difference is it looks like you can use photographs to make them instead of having to learn complicated 3d software. Does anyone know if it is possible to make trainz models with this ?

H222
May 21st, 2013, 04:28 PM
I still think you'd need to be proficient in 3D Modelling

Jamie

mjolnir
May 21st, 2013, 06:18 PM
In order to make content for trains, one has to first make the content, then get it into the game.

Making the content involves making the meshes to support the items, then adding attachment points for animations, in-game lights, loads, passengers, &c. I suspect that while it might be possible to create a mesh in the application you are asking about, that adding attachment points is going to have to be done in a platform which supports these, like GMAX (not recommended due to age and non-support), Blender or 3D studio. So the question is going to be if the models you create in the platform you're enquiring about can be exported to a format one of these other packages can import, so the attachment points, and other items can be added. But, if they can, then it's a piece of cake, because both Blender and 3DS max can be used to export models which can be imported into Trainz.

ns

pdkoester
May 21st, 2013, 09:25 PM
For best results, you have to take pictures (20-40 at least) of something, it has to be overlapping of the same exact item, not mixed from other pictures. After that, it uploads the information to THEIR cloud (servers) and stores it there. Then you can use it when you are ready to do "3D printing" with a 3D printer. They call it frabricate (look here: http://www.123dapp.com/makeit/about) to produce the final result. So, I am guessing, without any further testing, you cannot save the image local. And ,it appears, this may all be browser based.

JCitron
May 21st, 2013, 09:35 PM
If the program supports exporting to standard formats such as 3ds or obj, then the files can be brought into Blender and exported out as a Trainz compatible model.

I have to take a look at the program as I am curious too as to what it is capable of doing.

John

pdkoester
May 21st, 2013, 09:44 PM
If the program supports exporting to standard formats such as 3ds or obj, then the files can be brought into Blender and exported out as a Trainz compatible model.

I have to take a look at the program as I am curious too as to what it is capable of doing.

John

I have downloaded it, uploaded the demo photos it comes with, now I have to wait for their "cloud" to assemble it, then we'll see what the options are. When it is done, I may need to go here: http://www.greentoken.de/onlineconv/ and convert the format.

pdkoester
May 21st, 2013, 10:02 PM
If the program supports exporting to standard formats such as 3ds or obj, then the files can be brought into Blender and exported out as a Trainz compatible model.

I have to take a look at the program as I am curious too as to what it is capable of doing.

John

Well, it saves as .obj as one of the two formats you suggested. Is there a free program I could use to open the .obj filed to confirm? I will host it on wikisend for you to try...

Capture_2013_05_21_19_37_56~.obj (http://wikisend.com/download/389384/Capture_2013_05_21_19_37_56~.obj)

JCitron
May 21st, 2013, 10:09 PM
Well, it saves as .obj as one of the two formats you suggested. Is there a free program I could use to open the .obj filed to confirm? I will host it on wikisend for you to try...

Capture_2013_05_21_19_37_56~.obj (http://wikisend.com/download/389384/Capture_2013_05_21_19_37_56~.obj)

Try Blender. You can import .obj files into Blender. There is also a Trainz plug-in for Blender as well so you can export out the asset ready for import into Trainz.
John

pdkoester
May 21st, 2013, 10:20 PM
Try Blender. You can import .obj files into Blender. There is also a Trainz plug-in for Blender as well so you can export out the asset ready for import into Trainz.
John

Okay, I successfully imported it into blender. Now where is the Trainz plug-in, so I can export out the asset ready for import into Trainz? If that is all there is to it, guess what... I am going to start photographing REAL locomotives and creating them. The mesh producing part is the only long process so far.

Paul

pdkoester
May 21st, 2013, 10:21 PM
Also, I need to know how to rotate it, assign the front, back, top, bottom, etc. LOL I am such a "nooblet", :hehe: 42 years old and learning the hard way, on the fly!

Paul

RRSignal
May 21st, 2013, 11:51 PM
The exporter and installation instructions are here:

http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showthread.php?89501-Blender-Exporter-for-Trainz

FYI, I tried that Wavefront (OBJ) sample and although the mesh imported, any textures or paint did not. And, at 229 thousand polys, I hope this is just the fault of the sample and that this tool isn't like Sketchup in creating insanely-inefficient game objects. See here:

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3774/8780380606_e45ace600b_o.jpg

pdkoester
May 22nd, 2013, 12:20 AM
Thanks for your help RRSignal, see if you can see my reply over on the other posts... http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showthread.php?101842-Blender-support-(help!)

Your help and support are greatly appreciated!



Paul

SharkNose
May 22nd, 2013, 06:39 AM
I downloaded it for my iPad and noticed that none of the example objects had any straight lines. They were all statues or a person or some sort of creature. I think RRSignal is right in that any object created from this will be super poly-heavy. Blender might be able to reduce the poly count some.

I was going to try it on an N-Scale building that I have, but it was dark already and I couldn't get the pictures to come out right with my house lights.

nicky9499
May 22nd, 2013, 10:40 AM
One of Microsoft's labs did something similar 7 years ago. It was called Photosynth and was pretty good considering the technology at that time. http://photosynth.net/

sfinlay
May 22nd, 2013, 03:20 PM
So, the answer to my original question seems to be a resounding maybe ! I always knew it was necessary to learn some basic Blender techniques etc but for me, what has always but me off is the original modelling of the prototypes. It seems to me that you need a certain amount of artistry/talent to make a model. If I can get the correct shapes into Blender in the first place (using pictures) I would be happy to experiment with attachments etc. Sharknose (or anyone who gives it a go) can you please tell me how you get on ? I'm going to have a mess around with it. If not ideal for Locos or rolling stock it might come in handy for other items, (buildings for example)

SharkNose
May 22nd, 2013, 09:31 PM
Well, it's crude, but I did get my N-Scale model into Blender (version 2.67) with 123D Catch.

Picture of the original model:

http://i1173.photobucket.com/albums/r584/a2j11j4/Models 2D and 3D/VillaV0.jpg (http://s1173.photobucket.com/user/a2j11j4/media/Models 2D and 3D/VillaV0.jpg.html)

Render from 123D Catch:

http://i1173.photobucket.com/albums/r584/a2j11j4/Models 2D and 3D/VillaV1.jpg (http://s1173.photobucket.com/user/a2j11j4/media/Models 2D and 3D/VillaV1.jpg.html)

Wireframe view from Blender (11090 polys):

http://i1173.photobucket.com/albums/r584/a2j11j4/Models 2D and 3D/VillaV2.jpg (http://s1173.photobucket.com/user/a2j11j4/media/Models 2D and 3D/VillaV2.jpg.html)

Textured view from Blender:

http://i1173.photobucket.com/albums/r584/a2j11j4/Models 2D and 3D/VillaV3.jpg (http://s1173.photobucket.com/user/a2j11j4/media/Models 2D and 3D/VillaV3.jpg.html)

From RRSignal's earlier post, I didn't think I'd get the texture in TS12, but I did:

http://i1173.photobucket.com/albums/r584/a2j11j4/Models 2D and 3D/VillaV4.jpg (http://s1173.photobucket.com/user/a2j11j4/media/Models 2D and 3D/VillaV4.jpg.html)

Some missing details on the process:

1) You have to create an account with AutoDesk (it accepts Facebook, Windows Live and other accounts too).
2) To download your model, you have to log in to http://www.123dapp.com/.
3) The download is a zip file containing 4 files:

icon.png (600 x 600 thumbnail)
mesh.obj (the 3D model)
tex.mtl (material file?)
tex_0.jpg (2048 x 1024 texture file)

I think with the proper lighting and a big enough model (AND patience and practice), the results might be acceptable.

I don't think this would work very well for locomotives or rolling stock. Notice that see-through areas on my model (2nd floor porch) did not transfer well. I think this is more suited to solid rounded scenery objects.

Just my opinion - your mileage may vary. :D

A fun exercise!

Andrew :wave:

hminky
May 22nd, 2013, 09:37 PM
Wireframe view from Blender (11090 polys)
Geez something to create worse models than Sketchup:Y:

Go for it:clap:

Harold:eek:

SharkNose
May 23rd, 2013, 07:06 AM
Geez something to create worse models than Sketchup:Y:

Go for it:clap:

Harold:eek:

Your sarcasm is not lost, Harold. ;) I personally would not make a model with this tool to be seriously used in Trainz. I agree that the poly count is outrageous for a "boxy" model like my haunted house above. If I were to make it from scratch, I'm sure (even with my limited knowledge of Blender so far) that I could create a model with 1/10th that poly count.

What I DO find amazing, is that with only 38 photos, 123D Catch was able to create a fairly good 3D duplicate of my model, with no reference to size dimensions AND provide a texture map that could be easily imported into Blender. And then after only having to rotate the model 90 degrees and raise it to ground level, was able to export to a format usable by Trainz!

I guess I'm easily impressed.:p

mjolnir
May 23rd, 2013, 07:48 AM
A couple of thoughts here: first, use of the "decimate" modifier in Blender (cf. < http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:2.6/Manual/Modifiers/Generate/Decimate >) might bring the model into a much more acceptable poly range. Second, one could bake normal and bump maps from the rendered object to make a much lower poly version.


ns