PDA

View Full Version : Should all "Snap To Grid" tunnels have the "Snap To Grid" function removed ?



cascaderailroad
May 10th, 2013, 05:29 PM
"Snap To Grid" tunnels are really a pain, and most are not even usable because of this snap to grid function, (which serves only to apply it's own dighole ... something that can be easy hand placed by the tracklayer.

I am searching for tunnels for use on the narrow gauge EBT RR.
http://www.spikesys.com/Bin/EBT/21924.jpg
http://www.spikesys.com/Bin/EBT/11717.jpg
http://www.spikesys.com/Bin/EBT/06906.jpg
http://www.spikesys.com/Bin/EBT/12637.jpg

Since most tunnels on the DLS are hugely overscaled, even for SG trains, NG tunnels are extremely hard to find.

Some of these "Snap To Grid" tunnels have big block head portals that cover up 3 or more 10m grids (and are ridiculously large obtrusive monstosity).

I know how to disable the dighole by altering the tunnel height in its config file, and I also know how to replace the tunnels track with another track kuid of my own choice.

clam1952
May 10th, 2013, 05:58 PM
NG tunnels are extremely hard to find.


Especially 2ft ones, which is why I roll my own.
The easy solution is to just use a dighole and tunnel liners and make the portals to just drop over the hole or even for short tunnels just make the thing as a scenery asset and use tunnel track. Secret of success is to make sure you have an appropriate texture that matches what ever you are using to cover the hole.

Scenery asset tunnel

http://imageshack.us/a/img541/4029/frwhr003.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/541/frwhr003.jpg/)
http://imageshack.us/a/img13/4857/frwhr004.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/13/frwhr004.jpg/)
or
Drop over portal with reduced size tunnel lining.

http://imageshack.us/a/img7/7892/frwhr001.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/7/frwhr001.jpg/)
http://imageshack.us/a/img594/2064/frwhr002.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/594/frwhr002.jpg/)

cascaderailroad
May 10th, 2013, 06:11 PM
I know someone who mentioned that a spline viaduct, can be used as a real short segment, and these also make great looking tunnel portals.

Vern
May 11th, 2013, 08:44 AM
Agreed these are one of the worst hangovers from Trainz 1.0 etc. era and if N3V manage to recode just one thing for the next version it should be the tunnel placing algorithm. Do away with these awful tunnels and introduce a slightly improved dighole system - i.e. maybe digholes that can be more precisely sized or that are perhaps built in to the actual portals to avoid too much overspill on surrounding terrain.

oknotsen
May 11th, 2013, 09:33 AM
Dig holes on a 5x5 scale would already be an improvement. That should make it possible to half the size of those huge entrances.

cascaderailroad
May 11th, 2013, 12:10 PM
I use dighole 1x1, and center a track on one 10m grid square:

http://i525.photobucket.com/albums/cc339/cascaderailroad/Screen_003-24.jpg
http://i525.photobucket.com/albums/cc339/cascaderailroad/Screen_004-20.jpg

Davie_UCF
May 11th, 2013, 12:20 PM
They have to snap due to how the dighole is attached to them sadly.

Mick_Berg
May 11th, 2013, 12:22 PM
When you make a tunnel portal, make it a trackside object by adding the line "trackside 0" (I think) and it will center itself on your track. Double track is a bit more fiddly but it will still work.
Mick Berg.

cascaderailroad
May 11th, 2013, 12:47 PM
Yeah I always disable the "Snap To Grid" and apply my own dighole.