Trainz 10 suddenly lagging, was running smoothly

d0g

Hello,

I know there have been several issues such as this posted here, but I figured this is probably case-specific... lately Trainz 10 has been lagging. I've been using it for a couple of years, previously without issue. I was able to run the Marias Pass X route end to end with 80+ car trains with no issue, often with the entire trainline in view, yet still very smooth gameplay. All graphics settings at maximum.

Lately, I've noticed a large decrease in gameplay. Even in the cab, it pauses every few seconds while loading scenery. I can't bring a large train into view without a pronounced stutter now. As I said, I've been running the program for at least a couple years, and it's never jumped around like this before.

I am running Vista 64-bit on a custom system. I have 4 gigs of RAM, and an AMD Athlon dual-core processor. I have an HD Radeon 3850 video card. I have Direct X 11 installed. There is approximately 28 GB available hard drive space out of a total of 232 GB. I do know that it has not been defragged in 3, 4, or maybe 5 years. I had never had issues with anything up to now, and didn't consider a defrag would be necessary. I am wondering if maybe this would help.

I am ruling any sort of malware out; I've run AV scans from Symantec and Malwarebytes and they found nothing. I haven't seen any symptoms of anything malicious. So I'm assuming it's a system/hardware issue. Any advice is appreciated.

Thank you.

I would defrag the hard drive. It will make a difference. Also check for a full drive. A full drive would make it difficult for the operating system to move stuff out of the way, in memory, for the program to work properly.