Session building help - automatic junction switching

rjc0235

I am not new to Trainz, but i am very new to trying to build sessions which are more than a single train running along a pre-set route. Yes I have Googled this, but it is likely i do not know the specific terms to search.

I am trying to program a "scheduled" train (likely a trigger from the player train) having to pass the player at a passing point on a single track route (specifically the new "Ferrovia Appennino Centrale" (FAC) route).

But I want it to work that if the player gets their first, they have to wait for the AI train, or if the AI train gets their first, the player can go straight through, and the AI has to wait.

But how do i get the junctions to automate?

The AI train will happily flip junctions in front of me to get to its destination, but how do i get that junction to flip back again to allow my train to pass through the junction?

Is it really as simple as "set the junction how you want the player to go, and rely on it pinging back to default once the AI has passed through?"

Any help would be appreciated, many thanks.

Set the junctions using a "Set junctions" rule and have the AI train move using an "Autodrive to..." order. The AI train will follow the path you define with the "Set Junctions" rules and will not turn the junctions.

Of course, you will have to set the junctions again once the AI train has entered the siding so as to allow the player train to run along the main. This can be accomplished using a "Check Trackside" rule with another "Set Junctions" as a child rule: set the Check Trackside so as to trigger it when the AI train stops at its destination TM.