Looking to upgrade from 8800gt 512mb ?

Davie_UCF

Here since 2001, Trainz!!
Hey,

I'm curious as to the options for graphics cards at the moment.
Trainz performs reasonably well in DX, getting 40fps in places.. yet in Opengl I get 10fps (was fine the other day, somethings a miss.. wonder if its my card).

Ive been pondering a new card for a few months now and I think its time to take a more serious look and get suggestions.

So here are my current specs.

Windows 7 32bit
4gb ram (3gb usable of course)
nvidia 8800gts 640mb
Quad core 4x 3.1ghz (overclocked from 2.6ghz)
PSU 500w (I think, i'll check later).

I think i'll stick with Nvidia, thats my only major criteria, apart from the obvious fact it has to be a noticably better improvement over previous card.

I look foward to your help!
David

Edit Note the bold bits, I got it wrong in the subject, I'm a fool !

Last edited:
I bought the Palit version of the Nvidia 1GB GTX460 and its lovely - very cool , quiet and powerful. Do a price search on Amazon, got mine for £150.

I was looking at that too. Dabs have it for 149ish, overclocked version. I'm so tempted just to buy it... Its my student overdraft though :hehe: Aaaah temptation.

Glad to see it must be worth it! :)

The Palit is £147.98 Ebuyer, I couldn't justify that so ended up with a GTS 450 which is well up to the job.
Just check that whatever you are getting from wherever has the correct connectors or an adapter with it if you need a VGA output. It appears that they are dropping that connector off on most of the 400 series.

The Palit is £147.98 Ebuyer, I couldn't justify that so ended up with a GTS 450 which is well up to the job.
Just check that whatever you are getting from wherever has the correct connectors or an adapter with it if you need a VGA output. It appears that they are dropping that connector off on most of the 400 series.

I'm all DVI here! So shouldn't have a problem.