.
Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2101112
Results 166 to 177 of 177

Thread: Maintaining my computer

  1. #166
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States of America, new york, fishkill
    Posts
    1,398

    Default

    Hi everyone. I apolgize for posting all of these problems that I am having with my computer Recently, I have started to experience freezing up in Trainz A New Era when launching a new route or editing my route. Has anyone experienced this. I tried to rebuild the database but that did not solve the problem. I really hope that there is a fix and I won't have to reinstall Trainz A New Era. Just now as I was attempting to edit the Major Tri State Area Project, my monitor started to flash and the audio of the game made a strange sound beeping sound. I immediately shut down the PC. Could it be my graphics card, (EVGA GTX 570) causing the problem? Could I have too many items stored in my picklists? I am not to sure if it would be best to continue to work on the Major Tri State Area in this simulator or Trainz 2010. These problems with Trainz A New Era and freezing or locking up started occurring around the time that I pushed my CPU to 4.0 GHz. Even though I am back at the stock 3.4 Ghz, Trainz is still freezing. Would anyone know how to go about solving this?
    Last edited by malikrthr; December 11th, 2016 at 01:53 AM.

  2. #167

    Default

    As for T:ANE, I don't think your CPU is the bottleneck. I assume you've got a I3, I5 or I7? That's good enough to run T:ANE. The GTX 570 is an older graphics card. I've got the EVGA 670 graphics card, which already gets pretty hot (74 C) when I'm flying through dense built area's. As you've got an even older graphics card, I assume this is the cause of the freezes. Try monitoring your temperatures with speccy. Click here to download it.

  3. #168
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States of America, new york, fishkill
    Posts
    1,398

    Default

    I have a Phenom II X4 965 CPU. It's weird because before I pushed my CPU, everything was running fine with the GTX 570. I also downloaded another game called American Truck Simulator demo and I noticed that the truck simulator even started to freeze up on me. Hopefully, it's just the card that is causing the problem. I will download the program and also attempt to take apart the GTX 570 card and see if it needs new thermal paste. From yesterday, it seems that everything is fine when I am typing documents or browsing the web but when I launch a game like Trainz, OpenBVE or American Truck simulator, the computer freezes and stalls.

  4. #169
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom, West Midlands, Gnosall Staffordshire
    Posts
    11,414

    Default

    I'd be inclined to reset the bios to default, possibility that something got left at the wrong value after overclocking it.
    Malc


  5. #170
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States of America, new york, fishkill
    Posts
    1,398

    Default

    So far, I did an antivirus and antimalware scan and nothing was found. I then downloaded the Speccy program and reset the bios to default. After loading the default values, I then selected the option in my BIOS, "Load Fail Safe Defaults". Afterwards, I ran TANE and still got the same problem. After launching a new route to edit, this is what my screen looked like and TANE froze. I wonder what I could do to fix this problem. Would it be best to back up all my TANE data to an external drive and perform a reinstall.My computer also freezes up if I launch American Truck simulator and OpenBVE or any game but it works normally when I am using the internet or typing up documents. Would it be worth it to take out the GTX 570 and install my older GTX 550Ti in the meanwhile to test to see if TANE also freezes with that card too?

    Last edited by malikrthr; December 11th, 2016 at 03:11 PM.

  6. #171
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom, West Midlands, Gnosall Staffordshire
    Posts
    11,414

    Default

    That looks like a graphics card problem, try the other one. To my mind looking at that screenshot, it may not be the PC locking up but the graphics display freezing.
    Malc


  7. #172
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    2,295

    Default

    malikrthr:
    Power supply problems? From what you say it only happens when you're drawing higher amps (power) from your PSU i.e. when playing games that require higher power in order to run graphics satisfactorily. Internet surfing and wordprocessing demand far less power than games/graphics.

    The bottom line is your PSU may be on the way out, perhaps you should replace it before it pops and takes your M/board and disk drives with it.

    Only a suggestion.

    Rob.

  8. #173
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States of America, new york, fishkill
    Posts
    1,398

    Default

    Thank you Clam1952. Your were right, it was a graphics card problem. After the game was freezing up, I uninstalled all the graphics card drivers for my GTX 570 and powered down the system. I used an ESD wristwrap and then took the GTX 570 card out of the system. After a few minutes or so, I put the GTX 550Ti card in. I then booted the computer and installed the latest graphics drivers and Geforce Experience. Once installed, I was able to launch and edit a new route without it freezing and I was able to drive a train on the Major Tri State Area without it freezing. I told myself that this is a good sign and that the 570 could be overheating or probably almost time to go out of service. After playing Trainz A New Era, I launched the American Truck simulator demo and was able to drive around for 20 minutes. With the 570, I was only able to drive around for a little under a minute before the game would freeze.

    Thank you for the suggestions robd. I was beginning to think that it's a possibility that the graphics card is almost on it's way out ready to be put out of service. It is an ULTRA LSP limited edition 700w power supply. This is ranked as a tier 5 PSU on Tom's hardware which is not good. I have had it since the end of 2012. During the week, I am going to back up my whole system to a portable drive just incase the PSU stops working soon. After I back everything up, I am going to disconnect the PSU from the system to avoid it taking all the power and killing the other components. I am going to test the PSU with a multimeter to see how many volts it's getting. If it's under 11 volts, then it is definitely time to replace the PSU. Throughout the holiday, I am going to research different power supplies. I may look for a Tier one or Tier two modular PSU with 80% gold efficiency. Maybe a 900w or 1000w PSU just to make sure I have enough power especially for when I have the GTX 1060 card.

  9. #174
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Antarctica, Vostok Base, South Pole, AQ
    Posts
    16,190

    Default

    On the average laptop, do the vents on the bottom blow hot air out, or suck in cool air in ?

    If there is a mesh or screen there ... why do PC makers make the filters non-removable, so you could simply unscrew them, and suck out the PC with a vaaccuumm cleaner ? Instead I have to snap out my faceplate (probably breaking the tabs off), unscrew 32 teeny tiny screws, remove the keyboard, remove all kinds of other things ... just in order to blow out a couple of dust bunnies !

    I guess the same reason why the zipper on the fly of pants is a teeny tiny 3/8" long tab, and I gotz' gorilla fingers, that kant' grab a hold of it. And the same reason why a pair of heavy duty denim jeans, that wears like iron, and will probably last forever ... however the pockets are make out of cheepo bed sheet material, and get a hole on your pocket inside of 3 weeks. And why pockets on your pants are not made so that you can get your wallet or cell phone out, unless you step outside of the car.
    For all those "jumping ship" --v

  10. #175
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States of America, new york, fishkill
    Posts
    1,398

    Default

    Happy New Year everyone. I would like to thank everyone for helping me with suggestions and tips on upgrading my PC Earlier this evening, I completed the upgrade. I now have an EVGA GTX 1060 SSC 6GB video card and an EVGA SuperNova G2 1000 Watt 80 Plus Gold power supply. I turned most of the settings to high and ultra. Every now and again, I still see Trainz stuttering but overall, it performs better than my old GTX 570 and GTX 550 Ti. I wonder if there is a way to permanently get rid of stuttering in Trainz. Can't wait to start using this PC. I really like how the power supply has eco mode and how the graphics card has LED lighting. Below are some pictures of my upgraded rig. My new specs are below.

    CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.4 Ghz
    Cooler: CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo
    Graphics: 6GB EVGA GTX 1060 SSC
    Motherboard: AMD UD3 970A ATX motherboard
    PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1000 G2
    Hard Drive: 500 GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD and 1 TB SeagateBarracuda HDD
    Memory: 16 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600 Mhz in quadchannel configuration





  11. #176
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    1,115

    Default

    Nice work on the Rig, looks really sharp and that is going to make quit a difference.......

    I don't know if it was mentioned?, but make sure when you run Trainz, turn off Win Drive Indexing Functions, and backup programs.

    Turn off your network connection too, this all helps give the highest % Memory and CPU cycles free for giving T:ANE a fair shake when demanding performance.

    These are just suggestions, and up to you for preference.
    Respectfully yours, Blue

    HPEnvy Core I-5 SSD Cpu @2.20Mhz 16Meg DDR3 Ram Graphics 5200 Resolution 1920x1080@32bits

  12. #177
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States of America, new york, fishkill
    Posts
    1,398

    Default

    Thank you Blueodessey. I really appreciate it. I have not tried to run Trainz before with indexing off or the network connection. I am going to give it a try.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •