.
Trainz: A New Era Pre-Orders Have Now Arrived! - Visit our Information Page to find out more.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Asset Compatibility Between Trainz Versions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, MO, Kansas City
    Posts
    2,668

    Default Asset Compatibility Between Trainz Versions

    FYI. I've only used and built routes in TRS2004. I haven't even had the chance to nibble at any of the other versions.

    Will old content always work in a newer version of Trainz while new content will not work in an older version of Trainz?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,015

    Default

    Simple answer is NO.
    There's a lot of TRS2004/6 stuff that doesn't work in TS2010 & a lot of
    creators are not updating their stuff.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, MO, Kansas City
    Posts
    2,668

    Default

    Sounds like a mess.

    Can I use a route I've built with TRS2004 in say 2009 with compatibility mode? Then add 2009 assests to that same route?

    What are the negatives of running a route in compatibility mode?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,084

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dricketts View Post
    Sounds like a mess.

    Can I use a route I've built with TRS2004 in say 2009 with compatibility mode? Then add 2009 assests to that same route?

    What are the negatives of running a route in compatibility mode?
    Speed. Compatibility mode is considerably slower - which means you're essentially limited to everything using the older guidelines for polygon count, etc.
    Nikki

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    10,333

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dricketts View Post
    FYI. I've only used and built routes in TRS2004. I haven't even had the chance to nibble at any of the other versions.

    Will old content always work in a newer version of Trainz while new content will not work in an older version of Trainz?
    Most simple objects such as scenery objects will work in later versions including TS2010 native mode. It's the more complex rolling stock and locomotives that are more of the problem.

    Basically the more complicated the assets the more possibilities for the content creator to get something wrong. TS2010 basically does more error checking.

    I create TRS2004 level content in TS2010. Does that answer one question?

    Cheerio John

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands, but for now, Montreal, CA
    Posts
    2,713

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dricketts View Post
    FYI. I've only used and built routes in TRS2004. I haven't even had the chance to nibble at any of the other versions.

    Will old content always work in a newer version of Trainz while new content will not work in an older version of Trainz?
    Always is a big word. Many assets, especially the simpler ones will work without any major problems in TS2010. You will sometimes get warnings that a quick pass through CCP can correct.

    Some content, especially if it uses scripts or non-standard configuration will cause various levels of problems. How easy they are to fix depends on the problem.

    Other assets will not work without a major overhaul but that is to be expected., especially when you consider the age of some of them. Objects build more than six years ago when the state of the art was much simpler and creators, yours truly included, were sometimes quite creative when it came to getting something to work in Trainz. It may have gotten in but at what cost? For better or worse, Trainz would often let things in that caused stuttering, slowdowns and even crashes all in the name of getting more assets. Bad habits were formed that are hard to break. The hardware has also changed tremendously over the years so that shortcuts or kludges that needed to be used are now not needed. These will now flagged as errors. Some might question that call but the game has changed.

    Updating the assets in an old route should not be a problem, time consuming perhaps if done manually although there is a search and replace function that makes it relatively easy to do.

    Compatibility mode should only be seen and used as a stopgap measure until you've upgraded all the assets you want to use. For the best performance, I only use native mode and it shows. Any asset that doesn't work gets updated or replaced.

    Backward computability is nice in theory but rather lame in practice.


    70337:
    TS12 SP1 HF4 build 61388 | Win8.1 64 bit, i7-4700HQ 2.4GHz 16 GB, GTX 870M

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, MO, Kansas City
    Posts
    2,668

    Default

    Good info.

    I've spent the last year and a half working on my Kansas City route. There's been a lot of blood sweat and tears going into this route. Any route builder can relate to that and I would like to see it enjoyed by the Trainz community in the future.

    So here lies the dilemma. Should I bite the bullet, move my route to 2009 or 2010 and use the search and replace feature? There's a lot of quality 2006 content that comes to mind that I currently can't use in 2004. Like bnsf50's crossings signals.

    Should I move my 2004 route to 2010 while it's still a work in progress? Maybe this will prevent even more search and replace in the future while giving my route access to more content overall?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    10,333

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dricketts View Post
    Good info.

    I've spent the last year and a half working on my Kansas City route. There's been a lot of blood sweat and tears going into this route. Any route builder can relate to that and I would like to see it enjoyed by the Trainz community in the future.

    So here lies the dilemma. Should I bite the bullet, move my route to 2009 or 2010 and use the search and replace feature? There's a lot of quality 2006 content that comes to mind that I currently can't use in 2004. Like bnsf50's crossings signals.

    Should I move my 2004 route to 2010 while it's still a work in progress? Maybe this will prevent even more search and replace in the future while giving my route access to more content overall?
    I'd go TS2010. It isn't bad but back up your layout from time to time.

    Cheerio John

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, SA, Linden Park, Adelaide
    Posts
    4,115

    Default

    I agree with John, TS2010 is the way to go. Steer clear of TS2009, I think it is a blind alley and future development will be in TS2010.

    Peter

  10. #10

    Default

    Hi,

    I transferred my route from 2006 to 2010 and found that of the 1400+ items I used only 20 showed up as faulty in 2010. It took no time at all to find replacements for those faulty assets - after all there are in excess 140,000 assets on the DLS.

    Surely with such a choice it is always possible to create a route of your choice!

    Cheers, John

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bucharest Romania (Third Planet)
    Posts
    1,960

    Default History

    Quote Originally Posted by narrowgauge View Post
    ...Steer clear of TS2009, I think it is a blind alley and future development will be in TS2010.
    Peter
    Funny isn't it! Remember this?
    "The Trainz team have been busy making sure the next major release of Trainz will be the best ever. Trainz Simulator 2009 is the culmination of 8 years of ongoing development and brings together a unified set of content and features that will provide a single stable platform that can be built upon for many more years to come."
    So what to believe?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ubetcha'Stan-Duchy of Grand Fenwick
    Posts
    11,739

    Default Larry the Cable Guy & Jeff Foxworthy

    Quote Originally Posted by American_Connections View Post
    Funny isn't it! Remember this?
    "The Trainz team have been busy making sure the next major release of Trainz will be the best ever. Trainz Simulator 2009 is the culmination of 8 years of ongoing development and brings together a unified set of content and features that will provide a single stable platform that can be built upon for many more years to come."
    So what to believe?
    I believe...that if your working TV, sits on top of your non-working TV...You just might be a readneck.

    I believe...that the handicap stool, is the Caddilac of all stools.

    I believed...that MSTS2 was going to be released in 2009... instead the MSTS2 ACES video developement employees were released to the unemployment line.

    I believed...that "Vista" was the ultimate OS.

    I believe...that an entirely new revamped TS2011 or TS2012 updated version, will make TS2010 obsolete.

    I believe...that we should celibrate the Holidays well before December 16th 2012, as the Myan calander predicts the end of the world on Dec 17th 2012.
    Last edited by cascaderailroad; April 14th, 2010 at 09:46 AM.
    Willey Finishzit, Kenny Dooit & Betty Doant

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,084

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cascaderailroad View Post
    I believe...that we should celibrate the Holidays well before December 16th 2012, as the Myan calander predicts the end of the world on Dec 17th 2012.
    And you expect people to take you seriously?!?
    Nikki

  14. #14

    Default

    dont know if this is off topic but is hard to get all of franks, SPORBUST's, locomotives to work error free in ts09/10?
    -Joe

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    2,147

    Default

    I raised the question of version compatability way back when TS2009/10 was being developed, in the Trainzdev forum, hence I belive the Compatibility mode was introduced.

    This is only a stopgap measure until all us creators move on to the newer versions and their higher standards.

    All of Paulz Trainz products are now upgraded to TS2010 standards, but will also run fine in TRS2004 TRS2006 & TC versions, they have different e-specs and sounds, that includes coaches and wagons, as Trainz has finally got some accuracy into the physics as well as good (if not great) graphics capabilities)

    Go for TS2010, as that is the way forward from now on.
    http://www.paulztrainz.myenet.info

    Paul of Paulz Trainz (est 2004)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •