.
Trainz: A New Era Pre-Orders Have Now Arrived! - Visit our Information Page to find out more.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37

Thread: Will this new PC cope with Trainz?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Dorset, Bournemouth
    Posts
    738

    Default Will this new PC cope with Trainz?

    I have ordered a new PC, £700 was about my upper limit, hence the "making do" with a 9800 GTX+ card.
    Will I see reasonable performance with Trainz? I will find out for myself in 2 weeks time when it has been assembled and delivered but wondered what the opinions of the experts on this forum would be!!!
    Specs below.........

    Intel® Core™2 Duo E8400 (2 X 3.00GHz) 1333MHz FSB/6MB L2 Cache
    4GB CORSAIR XMS2 800MHz - LIFETIME WARRANTY! (2x2GB)
    ASUS® P5QL: DDR2, SATAII, PCI-e x16, 3 PCI, 2 x PCI-e x1
    Genuine Windows Vista™ Home Premium 64 bit Edition + SP1, CD & Licence
    8 x USB 2.0 PORTS (6 REAR + 2 FRONT) AS STANDARD
    500GB SERIAL ATA II HARD DRIVE WITH 8MB CACHE (7,200rpm)
    22x DUAL LAYER LIGHTSCRIBE DVD WRITER ±R/±RW/RAM
    512MB GEFORCE 9800GTX+ PCI Express + DVI + TV-OUT
    ONBOARD 8 CHANNEL (7.1) HIGH DEF AUDIO (AS STANDARD)
    ONBOARD 10/100/1000 GIGABIT LAN PORT
    Antec Nine Hundred Black Gaming Case with Side Panel Window
    600W Quiet Dual Rail PSU + 120mm Case Fan
    SUPER QUIET 22dBA TRIPLE COPPER HEATPIPE CPU COOLER
    Last edited by john_goddard; March 25th, 2009 at 05:41 PM. Reason: Specs changed.

  2. #2

    Default

    Hi John,

    You didn't say wich version of Trainz you are running.

    But from what you have posted the specs will easily run any version Trainz. Don't worry about only going for a 9800GTX+ graphics card, the latest GeForce 250's are only re-badged 9800's.

    I have a similar setup now, specs as follows:

    Intel Core2Dua E6300 (2x1.86ghz)
    Asus P5QL PRO Mobo
    4 Gig OCZ DDR2 Dual Mode Ram
    WD 250GB Sata II HD
    Samsung F1 640GB Sata II HD
    768MB GeForce 9600GSO
    S/Blaster XFI Extreme
    Windows Vista 32Bit Premium

    Nathan
    Napalm Industries Rail Division

    Nathanael Photography (Day Job)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Dorset, Bournemouth
    Posts
    738

    Default

    Thanks for your input Nathan, my old system (over 3yrs old) struggled with TC3 built in routes and I am now into Trs2009. John.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    "Chicago Area"
    Posts
    15,193
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default

    That system will play Trainz very well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    10,404

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by john_goddard View Post
    I have ordered a new PC, £700 was about my upper limit, hence the "making do" with a 9800 GTX card.
    Will I see reasonable performance with Trainz? I will find out for myself in 2 weeks time when it has been assembled and delivered but wondered what the opinions of the experts on this forum would be!!!
    Specs below.........

    Intel® Core™2 Duo E8400 (2 X 3.00GHz) 1333MHz FSB/6MB L2 Cache
    4GB CORSAIR XMS2 800MHz - LIFETIME WARRANTY! (2x2GB)
    ASUS® P5QL: DDR2, SATAII, PCI-e x16, 3 PCI, 2 x PCI-e x1
    Genuine Windows Vista™ Home Premium 32 bit Edition + SP1, CD & Licence
    8 x USB 2.0 PORTS (6 REAR + 2 FRONT) AS STANDARD
    500GB SERIAL ATA II HARD DRIVE WITH 8MB CACHE (7,200rpm)
    22x DUAL LAYER LIGHTSCRIBE DVD WRITER ±R/±RW/RAM
    512MB GEFORCE 9800GTX+ PCI Express + DVI + TV-OUT
    ONBOARD 8 CHANNEL (7.1) HIGH DEF AUDIO (AS STANDARD)
    ONBOARD 10/100/1000 GIGABIT LAN PORT
    Antec Nine Hundred Black Gaming Case with Side Panel Window
    450W Quiet Dual Rail PSU + 120mm Case Fan
    SUPER QUIET 22dBA TRIPLE COPPER HEATPIPE CPU COOLER
    I might go 64 bit Vista otherwise its fine.

    Cheerio John

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Michagain, Berkley
    Posts
    3,293
    Blog Entries
    6

    Default

    Almost the same as my new computer, it well run Trainz fine. Your PSU is a little low I went with 850W and Vista 64.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Dorset, Bournemouth
    Posts
    738

    Default

    Yes, I have since got back to them and upped the PSU to 600w, they recommended saving money by having 450w as this is adequate for the system I ordered but 600w will be needed for any future improvements, i.e. additional or better card, 2nd H/drive etc. John.
    Last edited by john_goddard; March 7th, 2009 at 12:16 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Dorset, Bournemouth
    Posts
    738

    Default

    Well I am still waiting for my custom built PC, perhaps I should have paid extra to fast track it!
    Anyway, I have ordered Vista 32bit but it is not too late to change to 64bit, so is it worth having 64bit, would I have any problems with Trainz? John.
    Last edited by john_goddard; March 19th, 2009 at 02:54 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    10,404

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by john_goddard View Post
    Well I am still waiting for my custom built PC, perhaps I should have paid extra to fast track it!
    Anyway, I have ordered Vista 32bit but it is not too late to change to 64bit, so is it worth having 64bit, would I have any problems with Trainz? John.
    Tomshardware has just done a review.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ming,2250.html

    Basically for gaming today the only benefit appears to be stability. They do show how to hack 32 bit programs to push them into LAA mode or use up to 4 gigs of memory.

    Realistically 64 bit is now ordered on more computers than 32 bit so the drivers are probably more stable. Technically it is a little more secure and considering you'll be running the machine for a few years I'd go with 64 bit Vista, possibly upgrading to Windows 7 which is looking to be a much better operating system if Microsoft's prices aren't too high.

    Cheerio John

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Dorset, Bournemouth
    Posts
    738

    Default

    Thanks, John, I think I will take your advice, I believe the price will be the same so it will not cost me anything, John.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Shropshire, Newport
    Posts
    641

    Default

    Let us know how Trainz runs please.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Dorset, Bournemouth
    Posts
    738

    Default

    I am still waiting for new PC! It has been assembled to my specs and is now going through testing phase, which is supposed to take two days, so I am hoping it will arrive Friday! Apparently they are busy at the moment, hence the longer than forecast wait ( PCSpecialist).
    I will let you know how it goes when it arrives! John.
    Last edited by john_goddard; March 25th, 2009 at 05:37 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, VIC, Bullengarook
    Posts
    256

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by john_goddard View Post
    I am still waiting for new PC! It has been assembled to my specs and is now going through testing phase, which is supposed to take two days, so I am hoping it will arrive Friday! Apparently they are busy at the moment, hence the longer than forecast wait ( PCSpecialist).
    I will let you know how it goes when it arrives! John.
    I am interested to know whether to upgrade, or not. There is some exciting new hardware on the horizon.

    I am sure you're new system will arrive SOON.

    Pete

  14. #14

    Default

    I've just upgraded my computer to a Pentium 4 3.8Ghz, 2Gb DDR2 Ram, 256Mb Geforce 8400GS.

    That should be fine to run Trainz....

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    "Chicago Area"
    Posts
    15,193
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quicksilver1983 View Post
    I've just upgraded my computer to a Pentium 4 3.8Ghz, 2Gb DDR2 Ram, 256Mb Geforce 8400GS.

    That should be fine to run Trainz....
    Don't get your hopes up, it won't master Trainz completely! I had a set up with similar specs!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •