.
Trainz: A New Era Pre-Orders Have Now Arrived! - Visit our Information Page to find out more.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Importing Google Earth Sections and Google Sketchup 3D models into trainz?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Indiana, Schereville
    Posts
    129

    Default Importing Google Earth Sections and Google Sketchup 3D models into trainz?

    Can anyone tell me how to import sections of maps on google earth into trainz as well as 3D models created in Google sketchup, my friend who showed me google sketchup said that they could be imported into 3dmax or blender (forgot which).

    matt

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom Silsden West Yorkshire
    Posts
    222

    Default

    I would certainly be interested in how to get Sketchup into Trainz. I have just watched 3 sets of video tutorials on creating 3d objects from Sketchup, Blender and 3D canvas. My impression was that Sketchup was the easiest of the three. I did read a post that someone is developing an exporter for Sketchup diectly into Trainz but don't know where they have got with this (Have forgotten who it was! Sorry if you are still out there!).

    John

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    East Kilbride Scotland and San Juan Argentina
    Posts
    2,029

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trainkid91 View Post
    as well as 3D models created in Google sketchup,(forgot which).

    matt
    Hello

    Our friend decapod should have the sketchup exporter to .IM files ready soon.

    http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showthread.php?t=28011

    http://forums.auran.com/trainz/showp...60&postcount=8

    Regards

    Ahsan

    27/12/02 DLS C, T, UTC, TS04, TS06, TC1,2,3, TS09WBE, 10EE, TS12

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    10,402

    Default

    Auran are developing an XML importer to Trainz, currently only Blender has a Trainz xml exporter and that's more in development as new versions of the importer come out.

    3D Canvas has an exporter based on decompiling a .im file, it works but the concern has been raised that all the exporters based on the decompile method may corrupt Trainz inadvertantly. The same is true of the native Blender exporter.

    TRS2009 will apparently use a different format or at least GMAX will be unable to create the files so ideally you want to use a product that supports the trs2009 native format and at the moment that looks like being Blender.

    It's fairly easy to use there is a step by step tutorial in the wikibook that just uses the bits you need for Trainz, Blender is extremely powerful and most tutorials give you information about things you don't need.

    http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Trainz and look for the content creation it, Blender tutorials, then texture.

    Cheerio John

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, SA, Adelaide
    Posts
    3,413

    Default

    I believe you can use Flux Studio to convert from sketchup to 3DS to import into GMax. From there you can export to Trainz. I've used Flux Studio to convert meshes (well one so far) from Autodesk Inventor to 3DS, and successfully got them into TRS.

    Paul

    p.s. I imagine that GMax meshes will still work in '09, they just won't support any of the new features...
    Space reserved for Signature
    Temporary Sign

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom Silsden West Yorkshire
    Posts
    222

    Default

    Thanks for the links to the thread - hope it's soon! I will have to watch out. I presume Sketchup could only be used for static models - it did look very promising from the tutorial video I watched. I am not sure which way to go - I did a bit of modelling in Gmax a few years ago - just stations for my layouts and got on with it except for the placing of textures - seemed a bit unstable. With a bit more time on my hands now I would like to enter back into making some objects but only want to learn one program! So facing the decision - which way to go - Sketchup, Blender or 3D Canvas?

    John M

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    East Kilbride Scotland and San Juan Argentina
    Posts
    2,029

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by Yorkshire View Post
    which way to go - Sketchup, Blender or 3D Canvas?

    John M
    Hello

    Blender in my opinion is the best option.

    Regards

    Ahsan

    27/12/02 DLS C, T, UTC, TS04, TS06, TC1,2,3, TS09WBE, 10EE, TS12

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom Silsden West Yorkshire
    Posts
    222

    Default

    Thanks for the advice Ahsan - I will probably take it and stay within the mainstream! Now to download & print out the Wiki tutorial that John Whelan points to!

    John M

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New York, Staten Island
    Posts
    924

    Default

    I tried out Flux Studio but how do I import the Google Earth images that were imported into Sketchup?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands, but for now, Montreal, CA
    Posts
    2,727

    Default

    I find it easiest to map a Google Earth image (resized screen shot) on to a single plane that has been sized just right to preserve both scale and ratio. Then I set the plane to be about 0.3m above the insertion point to avoid image flickering with the baseboard. I usually place the insertion point at one of the corners to make it easier to line up the plane with other objects.

    These make great placement guides for ground objects as well as ground cover textures with a well defined edge.


    70337:
    TS12 SP1 HF4 build 61388 | Win7 SP1 64 bit, i7-4700HQ 2.4GHz 16 GB, GTX 870M

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New York, Staten Island
    Posts
    924

    Default

    On Google Earth's status bar when I'm looking at the neighborhood where I live, I see "Elev 35m" and "Eye Alt 441m". Printed maps usually print the scale of the maps such as "Scale 1:18,250" and some kind of ruler that display the lengths such as 1000, 2000, 3000, and 4000 feet. If I take a screenshot of the neighborhood, how do I find out the scale of the "map"?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands, but for now, Montreal, CA
    Posts
    2,727

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffmorris View Post
    On Google Earth... If I take a screenshot of the neighborhood, how do I find out the scale of the "map"?
    If you look at the bottom left of the GE map, you'll see a distance scale with a number giving the length of the scale. The units will depend on what you selected in the GE options menu. Be sure you have select Scale / Legend in the View menu or you won't see it.


    70337:
    TS12 SP1 HF4 build 61388 | Win7 SP1 64 bit, i7-4700HQ 2.4GHz 16 GB, GTX 870M

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New York, Staten Island
    Posts
    924

    Default

    martinvk, I had to enable Scale/Legend in the View menu in GE. What's the best scale for taking screenshots of GE "maps" so that I can create 3D models in any 3D modeling programs? Is it possible to disable inference in SketchUp?

  14. #14

    Default

    I have created a number of houses in Sketchup (free), and it IS real easy. But I'm also still waiting for decapod to finish the exporter

    As far as I know only SketchUp Pro (very expensive), lets you export to a format that can be used in Gmax

    I keep hearing about Blender too, but am rather exhausted at the thought of having to learn yet another program, AND start all my models all over again

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, SA, Adelaide
    Posts
    3,413

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jytte View Post
    I have created a number of houses in Sketchup (free), and it IS real easy. But I'm also still waiting for decapod to finish the exporter

    As far as I know only SketchUp Pro (very expensive), lets you export to a format that can be used in Gmax

    I keep hearing about Blender too, but am rather exhausted at the thought of having to learn yet another program, AND start all my models all over again
    Flux studio will import sketchup .kmz files, and export .3ds files that GMax can read. It's a long way round, but it's one way to get them into Trainz while you're waiting for the direct exporter.

    Paul
    Space reserved for Signature
    Temporary Sign

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •