.
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 91

Thread: Timber Ridge Line Redux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Republic of California
    Posts
    2,862

    Default Timber Ridge Line Redux

    Around 2007 Klinger released his Timber Ridge Line route for TRS2006 SP1. I recently discovered this route and, somewhat to my surprise. it loaded into TANE with very few faulty or missing assets and it was a great joy to discover a route that I could use all the great Denver and Rio Grand assets I had accumulated over the past few years.

    Recently meatloaf747 opened a thread asking for screenshots of modifications to the Murchison route which I thought was a great idea although I had not actually done any such mods and I see he didn't get any responses so far. It occurred to me that this fine old route might garner more interest and response. So dust off your old screenies and show us what you have done to Klinger's route or just show us your favorite shots from TRS2006 thru TANE on this route.

    Something to get you in the mood.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E1qECQ__Vvs


    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qL9l1KNLOBw

    I've already started modifying the route somewhat, adding a turntable at Thomas' Lumber as well as replacing the 30" track with pencil42's 70lb track and I am planning on adding some logging camps.





    Don't be shy.
    Last edited by normhart; September 20th, 2016 at 12:08 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    United States of America, Iowa, Dubuque
    Posts
    469

    Default

    Does klinger knows yer riving TRL for TANE?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Republic of California
    Posts
    2,862

    Default

    I doubt it, all my modifications are for myself. The chances that I would do something that I thought were good enough to share would be slim and, should I actually succeed, I would contact him, naturally.

    This thread was basically to see what other people might have done to their version of the route. Such as your work on the dual gauge tracks, would you care to share some screenies of your mods?
    Last edited by normhart; September 20th, 2016 at 12:51 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Georgia, Rocky Face
    Posts
    2,837
    Blog Entries
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by normhart View Post
    Such as your work on the dual gauge tracks, would you care to share some screenies of your mods?
    I replaced Elvenor's 'MAN6 Dual Gauge Track' with 'MAN6 Four Rail Track'. It makes making curves a lot easier. Plus you also need only one set of signals instead of two separate pairs of signals, one pair for the standard gauge track, one pair for the narrow gauge track. This also replaces two sets of switchstands, one for narrow gauge and one for standard gauge, with one switchstand. All of this results in not having a narrow gauge train pass through a standard gauge train, which is a problem only with Trainz, which of coarse doesn't happen in reality.
    Failure is always an option - Adam Savage, Mythbusters

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    adelaide south australia
    Posts
    258

    Default

    this is a great route and it was one i played with a lot when i first started with trainz, in 2010 on the mac, there were a lot of issues with tunnels going missing, i eventually replaced them as well as adding more trestles. I also made some of the grades tougher as i really like to see NG 2-8-0s struggling to make the top of a 3.5 % grade .
    I have now decided i have to move to TANE so i might fire this route up and see how it works just to get a respite from working on the cumbres and toltec, much of the work i did on it recently in TS12 is going to have to be redone anyway which is disheartening , so just playing with another less demanding route for a week or two might be fun. if i do i'll post some snaps here
    WARNING! The Surgeon General has determined that the use of the simulator Trainz is highly addictive,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    adelaide south australia
    Posts
    258

    Default

    as promised heres a few pix , theses are from a section of the timber ridge line i revamped just for fun .






    theres so much good stuff in this line i think i'll now i'll probably revamp the whole thing for my own use.
    WARNING! The Surgeon General has determined that the use of the simulator Trainz is highly addictive,

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Republic of California
    Posts
    2,862

    Default

    Looking good Dan!

    Edit; Your experiments with replacement trees reminded me of a test I wanted to try. I thought that Dave Drake's Eastern Spruce-Fir 75m-wide cover spline looked remarkably good in TANE and klinger uses it extensively on this route. As you know klinger left wide open right of ways along the track line,



    And I wondered if filling that open space with a moderately dense scattering of complementary SpeedTrees would break up the repetitive appearance of the spline as well as screening the more obvious billboard appearances.



    Not bad IMO, I need to narrow down a good set of SpeedTrees and copy/paste them along a longer section of the line but my first impression is that using SpeedTrees near the rail lines and billboard at a distance may prove to be a good balance between performance and appearance.

    Turning the idea on it's head I tried adding Dave's spline to the open backgrounds on jrfolco's WM & B&O Mega Route Tane,





    and I have to say it may improve that route too. Of course this all requires spending an extensive amount of time planting trees but, hey, I'm from California and I'm a long time tree hugger.
    Last edited by normhart; October 19th, 2016 at 05:36 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Republic of California
    Posts
    2,862

    Default

    The beginning of a borax mine on the 30" line.


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    1,007

    Default

    These pics are so cool, and good to hear the Route works in Tane, I just bought Tane 2 days ago, so I have lots to do, lots of Importing from TS-12 I've had for 2 years...Keep the Pics and Ideas flowing.... Thanks for sharing.
    Respectfully yours, Blue

    HPEnvy Core I-5 SSD Cpu @2.20Mhz 16Meg DDR3 Ram Graphics 5200 Resolution 1920x1080@32bits

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Republic of California
    Posts
    2,862

    Default

    Your very welcome Blue. This route has been around for ages, hopefully more folks will show off what they've done to/with it.

    Borax is a company town.







    Last edited by normhart; October 20th, 2016 at 11:25 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    adelaide south australia
    Posts
    258

    Default

    the trees look good norm, heres a few more shots of what i'm doing with timber ridge
    I'm using textures from White pass and jvc trees ( 2012 versions ) as well as a few Aspens i've modified







    i too have been playing around with the mine, and will post a few shots of it later on .
    keep up the good work, its nice to see these old routes coming back to life,even thought i can still see some tress suspended in mid air, have to fix those later ....:-)
    Last edited by dangavel; October 30th, 2016 at 03:11 AM.
    WARNING! The Surgeon General has determined that the use of the simulator Trainz is highly addictive,

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Republic of California
    Posts
    2,862

    Default

    The Gray Goose, Hurrah! An excellent transport for your track crew. Your talents are different than mine, I have little talent for changing textures and terrain and I'm more interested in the industries and interactions between the three gauges of railroads. I do admire the scenery you have created and look forward to seeing what you have done to the Badger and Cash mining district. In anticipation here are some "before" pictures as my route stands. I have not done anything in the area except switch the track to pencil42's 30in,

    North entrance to mining district looking south








    South entrance looking north


    It seems as though there is no way to transfer coal or silver ore from the 30" line to the 36" line although there is coal transfer from the 36" to standard gauge at Prowler and from the 36" to 30" at Glenview. I am currently planning on adding some sort of interactive transfer industry at either Ashippun or Glenview. LOL, it just dawned on me that you are probably talking about the 36 gauge mining district and not the 30 gauge area I pictured above.

    BTW have you been able to fix <kuid:47439:25701> Wingatui Station? Mine is broken and I have not been able to fix it in TANE.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Republic of California
    Posts
    2,862

    Default

    Oh, and Borax is about done for the first pass,





    I'll add more after I figure out how to add a Borax commodity, add borax to the hopper's capabilities, make an interactive loading capability, setup a borax transfer to the 36" line and setup some sort of borax soap manufacturing industry.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    1,007

    Default

    Your route is looking great, and Check with Dave Snow on Commodities adding or maybe JCitron, there lots of Knowledgeable folks in here....Those are the two that come to mind for now.

    And Like the Goose, that is such a neat Asset with it's history when you thing about it,,,,,Your switch stands look cool, never seen that before.
    Respectfully yours, Blue

    HPEnvy Core I-5 SSD Cpu @2.20Mhz 16Meg DDR3 Ram Graphics 5200 Resolution 1920x1080@32bits

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Republic of California
    Posts
    2,862

    Default

    I know how to make commodities the problem is finding a texture that works. Turns out there is already a Borax Commodity but it is the refined product not what gets dug out of the ground. It will work for now though.




Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •