Blender exporter

Thanks for the help. But the read me doesn't tell me how to transfer the importer to.:( or how to use it.

Copy the importer into the Blender script folder. When you run the Blender xml export Torsten has the python script run the xml importer transparently.

Cheerio John

Hi Guys,

I have been learning to use blender over the last couple of weeks and I finally got to the point of exporting a simple object to trainz.

I will start by saying that the new XML exporter worked as expected and all files where created successfully. The only problem I had was when I started playing with alpha channels and exporting. I eventually managed to get the object to display correctly in Blender and look the same in Trainz. I had to fidle with the different Alpha settings in different areas within blender.

My next challenge is to try normal maps. Does anybody know how to use a normal map that doesn't make the object look like it is made from plastic? ie a concrete wall should have a mat finish not a shinny one.

What I would like if possible is a small tutorial on creating a simple cube that has both alpha and normal maps in blender that is then exported to trainz. This would help me to confirm that I am using the right options within blender.

Keep up the good work with the exporter.
Kenneth

Thanks for the link,

I will take a llok at these tutorials but they seem to only cover the basics and not from a Trainz perspective. What I was really after was a tutorial from the Trainz perspecive if possible.

Thanks again
Kenneth

Hi Guys,

I have been learning to use blender over the last couple of weeks and I finally got to the point of exporting a simple object to trainz.